Korean Beef Bulgogi

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I was a picky eater as a kid. My parents had to tell me everything was chicken so I would finish my dinner (those slyboots…). Luckily, as I grew older, my palette began to change for the better and by my junior year of college, I was gorging on anything Americans consider “ethnic.”

So now I’ve decided to challenge my skills in the kitchen with traditional Asian and Indian recipes.

In lieu of my recent interest in Korean cuisine, my boyfriend bought me a few cooking essentials, including a hot stone pot, or a dolsot. If you’re from Columbus, you’re fully aware of the latest Bibibop craze, but I urge all of you to venture out to Japanese Oriental for a real dolsot bibimbap. I’ll give you a brief description: think rice, vegetables, marinated beef (or, bulgogi), and a fried egg, all mixed together in a 350 degree pot, topped off with some spicy korean sauce. While I’m eager to attempt the almighty dolsot bibimbap, I have to master beef bulgogi first.

Beef bugogi is a fairly easy dish to master the first time you make it, but I learned a few tricks along the way. I used this awesome cookbook as my guide:

Behold! The Korean Bible of your (my) dreams...
Behold! The Korean Bible of your (my) dreams…

I didn’t follow the recipe verbatim, but I have to give credit where credit is due (buy it here). I’ve added a few personal touches of my own, along with some tips that were not listed in the book.

Serving Size: 6-8, Lactose-free

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds flank steak (ask your butcher to slice it into thin strips)
  • 3 tbsp soy sauce (Note: To make this recipe gluten-free, you must purchase specific gluten-free soy sauce)
  • 2 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 1/2 tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 bulb of garlic
  • Black pepper, to taste
  • 1/4 cup chopped white onion
  • 1/4 cup chopped green onion
  • Jasmine rice

Directions:

  1. Mix soy sauce, sugar, and garlic together. Add the mixture to your thin strips of flank steak. Let this marinate for at least 30 minutes or overnight (Note: I chose to leave out the sesame oil until it’s time to cook everything, since I read somewhere that it hinders the flavors from being absorbed into the meat properly)
  2. Once marinated, throw steak, sesame oil, and leftover marinade into your skillet on medium-high heat for 5-7 minutes, turning steak occasionally.
  3. Add onions and black pepper and cook for an additional 1-2 minutes, or until onions are soft.
  4. Once everything is done, be sure to turn heat off and let the bulgogi sit for a few minutes to absorb some of the juices. I made the mistake of serving it almost immediately, which takes away from the flavor. Don’t worry about it getting cold; your hot jasmine rice should keep it warm in your serving bowl.

Caitlin

Leave a Reply

