Tip Top for Brunch

IMG_2439

It’s no secret I love my weekend brunch. My usual go-to is DK Diner in Grandview, but every so often I venture around the city for a way to mix things up. A few weeks ago, a couple of us decided to give Tip Top a try. Rarely do I ever make it to Gay Street downtown, but I was feeling adventurous (plus, I was able to convince the boys to walk to Spoonful Records afterwards).

If you’ve never heard of Tip Top, you’ve probably heard of its sister-restaurant Surly Girl located in the Short North. Surly Girl’s location may lure in more customers, but the food at Tip Top is ridiculously awesome. I ordered the Blue Ribbon Breakfast Skillet, which features Tip Top’s famous pot roast, caramelized onions, chipotle peppers, scrambled eggs, diced potatoes, and cheddar-jack cheese. Top it all off with their corn and black bean salsa and you’ve got yourself one hefty meal. I was in pot-roast-breakfast heaven! Let me give you the delicious run-down (complete with all of the words you hate): the pot roast melts in your mouth as its juice pools at the bottom of the skillet so that the flavorful veggies soak it all up. The juice isn’t enough to oversaturate everything, rather, it keeps every element of the skillet perfectly moist.

Your brain is both pleased and horrified by the description I just gave you.

The prices at Tip Top are fairly reasonable for what you’re getting. We’re not talking about your mom-and-pop diner down the street; this is some high-quality food. The Blue Ribbon Breakfast Skillet is easily one of their most famous brunch dishes and it was only $10. Some of their other items were a little less expensive.

As far as service goes, my friends and I are fairly laid back; you don’t need to do much to impress us. In fact, keeping conversation to a minimum is our favorite… so we were cool with the servers straying far away from the chit-chat and constant check-ins. However, if you’re someone who enjoys a heart-to-heart with your waiter/waitress, you might be disappointed. This is not to say that the servers weren’t nice and attentive; they just weren’t your typical Starbucks barista, ya know?

Location is fine. If you consider breakfast to be a 1PM endeavor like we do, you shouldn’t have much trouble parking (although, I’d imagine parking isn’t terrible if you’re going before then, either). There’s not much around the area that I’d consider walking-distance (other than CCAD and Spoonful Records). Tip Top is located downtown, so it’s easy to get to if you live in Columbus.

Overall, the experience was an excellent one. The next time the gang and I decide to be fun, we’ll definitely go back. So let me give you the rundown for Tip Top’s brunch:

  • Food = 5/5 Stars
  • Price = $$
  • Service = 4/5 Stars
  • Location = 3/5 Stars
  • Atmosphere = 5/5 Stars
  • Website
  • Brunch Menu

Caitlin

Leave a Reply

